Theater, City Picks

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum

When: Fri., May 4, Sat., May 5, Sun., May 6, Thu., May 10, Fri., May 11, Sat., May 12, Sun., May 13, Thu., May 17, Fri., May 18, Sat., May 19 and Sun., May 20 2012

Although Wicked has sped out of town like a twister, the Footlight Players are giving Charleston another chance to catch a Broadway musical that's closer to Broad Street with A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. Stephen Sondheim's musical is about a slave, Pseudolus (played by Joshua Bates) who plays matchmaker for his owners' son Hero (Baker C. Powell) and the virgin courtesan Philia (Beth Jones). "We chose this show because it is lighthearted, fun, and the perfect fit to close Footlight Players' 80th anniversary season," says Footlight's Chrissy Oddi. Inspired by the Roman playwright Plautus' various farces, the musical debuted on the Great White Way in the '60s. Director Don Brandenburg is inserting plenty of pratfalls and sexual innuendo into his production.

Susan Cohen

Price: $30/adults, $25/seniors, $20/students

Related Stories



Showing 1-1 of 1

Current Rating
4.7 out of 5

Add a review


Select a star to rate.