Theater, City Picks

The Sugar Bean Sisters

When: Fri., March 7, 8 p.m., Sat., March 8, 8 p.m., Thu., March 13, 8 p.m., Fri., March 14, 8 p.m., Sat., March 15, 8 p.m., Sun., March 16, 3 p.m., Thu., March 20, 8 p.m., Fri., March 21, 8 p.m., Sat., March 22, 8 p.m. and Sun., March 23, 3 p.m. 2014

We’ve about had our fill of the Kardashians, the Judds, and reruns with those chicks from Charmed. We’re ready for a fresh sisterly trio equipped with their own drama. The Footlight Players are helping us out with The Sugar Bean Sisters. The Nettles call Sugar Bean, Fla., home, but Sugar Bean is missing eligible men and these single ladies are hell bent on getting out of town to find some love. Not even the arrival of a snake charmer, a bird-woman, and a handsome Mormon bishop can stop them as they try to escape their small town. “Though the show is quirky and incredibly funny, it has very poignant moments,” says Don Brandenburg, executive director at Footlight Players. “It promises to be a different theater experience from what most are accustomed to.” This off-Broadway Southern Gothic comedy runs through the end of March.

Margaret Vogel

Price: $25, $22/military/seniors, $15/students

Related Stories


Add a review


Select a star to rate.