Vespa Pizzeria 

Dining Description:  Seasonal menu. Authentic wood-fired oven pizza plus pasta, soup, chicken parm, and a sloppy joe.

User Rating:  ★★★★★ ★★★★★ by 10 Users

Hours:  Lunch & Dinner

Price:  $$, $$

Features:  Staff Pick, Image

Dining Features:  Lunch, Dinner

Neighborhood:  Daniel Island

Reviews / Comments (17)

Showing 1-17 of 17

★★★★★ ★★★★★

I've been to Vespa maybe 12 to 15 times over the last two years and they have really gotten better at each visit. Always liked the joint but they have listened to the comments and criticisms over the years and seem to have really put together a restaurant that will be a mainstay. Always friendly, some interesting menu items, cool spot on DI, I congratulate them on doing a fine job and wish them well in the future.

report 6 of 7 people like this.   
Posted by theleiman on March 8, 2012 at 12:22 PM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

Fantastic !

report 3 of 3 people like this.   
Posted by lowcountry foodie on March 7, 2012 at 5:40 PM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!! Go to Park Pizza in Park Circle awesome pizza and awesome customer service.
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

This is the email exchange after my complaint. The owner/manager is far from professional...

Vespa...
We are very sorry for for your experience. I really wish you would have notified the manager in person so we could have rectified the situation at that time.
But instead you decided to go viral with your negative comments. Very unfair dont you think? Especially on one of our busier nights of the year with a sold out concert!! Of the thousands of people who came through our door sat, you were the only complaint.
We would have gladly taken care of your bill had you verbalized your complaint instead of what you did which will get you nothing instead.

Me...
Wow what a polite response. Reading past reviews your restaurant gets a lot of negative comments about customer service and reading your email I see the employees are just following your lead. You should go back and reread my original complaint. All I asked for was a normal sized table not a free meal and it's very rude to assume that was what I was writing you to get. Your restaurant won't last much longer with your horrible attitude and horrible customer service. You should ask yourself why a customer should have to ask for a manager to get a table when a restaurant is almost empty...

Vespa...
Many people sit at that table fine without complaining about the size of it.
I figured you wouldn't be happy with my apology. Why did I even bother.
We've been in business longer than many businesses onDI. Sorry we aren't going anywhere

Me..
I don't care what other people do or don't complain about. It's simple the restaurant was almost empty we wanted another table. Sorry you're not able to understand good customer service. I know you're butt hurt about negative comments on Yelp and Urbanspoon, but that's what they are there for. When you have a good or bad experience that is the appropriate place to voice it and let others know what is going on at restaurants. Obviously negative comments about your restaurant are beyond your comprehension and I will continue to tell people about my horrible experience at your restaurant. Your response was not an apology it was a rude attack You need to grow up and think before you email customers in such a rude manner. Keep your bad attitude to yourself!

report 7 of 13 people like this.   
Posted by kylee on July 27, 2012 at 7:51 AM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

My family has really enjoyed the new addition to Daniel island. I will have to say my favorite is the white bean soup. The pizza is loaded with all fresh ingredients and a perfect, crispy crust. We sat up at the pizza bar and had a nice time watching all of the action in the kitchen.

report 0 of 2 people like this.   
Posted by carolinagal on November 25, 2009 at 6:48 PM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

forgot the rating- great!!

report 0 of 1 people like this.   
Posted by chas_native on October 29, 2009 at 9:43 AM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

Certainly some room for improvement, but overall very good. Service was very slow, too slow for Blackbaud Employees who have short lunch breaks, but hopefully those kinks are being worked out. Simple, solid menu with just enough variety. Pizza had a perfect crust with a great san marzano sauce, but a bit too much mozzarella in my opinion. The goat cheese and beet salad was spot on and perfectly balanced. Prices are relatively small, as are the portion sizes...a good match in my opinion.

report 0 of 1 people like this.   
Posted by folkfood on October 22, 2009 at 12:59 PM

"retro-futuristic vibe"? What the . . .?

report   
Posted by pookadot1 on March 10, 2012 at 12:53 AM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

Boy this place has come of age ! Fantastic from every stand point !

report 1 of 2 people like this.   
Posted by foodfan on February 23, 2011 at 11:56 AM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

I concur with RRIP; the decor is terrific both inside and out but the meal was very slow and is trailing EVO, Monza, and Brixx in terms of wood-fired pizza. They get points for the quality and freshness of their toppings, as well as the balance of flavors in the crust. However, they're still working out the difference between "crispy" and "burnt" crust. Realistically, if you want pizza on DI, Orlando's is still the way to go... both for the value and the quality.

report 1 of 3 people like this.   
Posted by factoryconnection on November 7, 2009 at 8:54 PM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

Evo and Monza are much better...decor is nice, typical new restaurant jitters with slow, inconsistent service. Pizza's are very small (too small for the price), much smaller than Evo or Monza. Mine did taste of ash from the wood fired oven.

report 4 of 9 people like this.   
Posted by rrip on October 27, 2009 at 1:18 PM

Not very good at all. Over priced for the size of pizza. The crust is too thin and covered in flour. I had to have a tall glass of water to keep from getting dry mouth. I won't be going back.

report 3 of 8 people like this.   
Posted by h_money_3000 on October 22, 2009 at 9:29 AM

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!!
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

report 4 of 11 people like this.   
Posted by kylee on July 16, 2012 at 7:44 PM
★★★★★ ★★★★★

This place is awesome!! Awesome atmosphere and best of all awesome food. I went in there with my husband, our server was Collin and he's the best, most friendly server I've ever had. Even though he was busy with other tables he always made sure we were taken care of. Its the best pizza joint on DI and their Guiness is cheaper than Daniel Island Grille.

report   
Posted by marychattim on May 19, 2011 at 9:59 PM

This place is fun and modern. My favorite would have to be the lasagna. Had a great time playing pool and hanging out and enjoyed the food!

report   
Posted by jbruce on March 3, 2011 at 2:39 PM

Pizza was amazing ! for only being open 2 weeks this place was right on !!

report   
Posted by lowcountry foodie on November 4, 2009 at 12:00 PM

Food was great. I love the style of the pizza. The crust is perfect and my family loved the mussels appetizers. Great price and place for the family. Well done!

report   
Posted by chas_native on October 29, 2009 at 9:33 AM

Great food I hope they keep it that way!
Mussels were great and the bread was just as good.
Very affordable

report   
Posted by yankee56 on October 21, 2009 at 12:37 PM
Showing 1-17 of 17

Add a review