Theater, City Picks

PURE Holiday Shorts

When: Fri., Dec. 5, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 6, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 10, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 11, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 12, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 13, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 18, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 19, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 20, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 26, 7:30 p.m. and Sat., Dec. 27, 7:30 p.m. 2014

It’s confession time. Some of us at the City Paper have never seen A Christmas Story — and we don’t want to. It’s not that we don’t think it’ll be charming or funny, but we’ve gone so long, what’s the point? Instead, we’re looking for new holiday stories, and thanks to PURE Theatre’s Holiday Shorts we may just find some. The PURE Theatre Writing Lab got together and created five new shorts for this holiday season. From Mary and Joseph finding out there’s no room at the Hampton Inn in Mary and Joseph at the Hampton Inn by David Lee Nelson to an inquisition on who rearranged the letters of the word noel in Leon by Emily Bohannon to the elves putting down their toy-making hammers and striking in Waiting for Hermie by Rodney Lee Rogers, each of the plays takes an irreverent look at the less than cheerful side of the season. Christmas Present by R.W. Smith and Ground Shipping by Donnetta Lavinia Grays round out the last two productions. When asked if one of these plays could be our new tradition, Rodney Lee Rogers gave us hope, “It’s possible, but it wasn’t designed to do that. It’s really all about working with the writers — a way to keep the muscles going,” he says.

Melissa Tunstall

Price: $20

Buy Tickets

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.