Theater

Shakespeare’s R and J

When: Thu., Aug. 12, 8 p.m., Fri., Aug. 13, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 14, 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 15, 3 p.m., Thu., Aug. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Aug. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 29, 3 p.m., Mon., Aug. 30, 8 p.m. and Tue., Aug. 31, 8 p.m. 2010

We’ve all heard the spiel. Romeo, Romeo, yadda yadda yadda. Romeo and Juliet may be the most famous story of star-crossed lovers to ever be written, but we all know what it’s about and we all know how it ends. But in Shakespeare’s R and J’s, the scandalous text is off limits for the high-school aged characters of this interpretive play. So they have to read it in secret after their boarding school’s curfew. And that’s when the hormones start coming out. The production is part of the school’s Shakespeare Project; CofC adjunct professor Katie Huard directs the play, which stars alumni Abby Kammer, Liz Coralli, and Palmer Stowe, and current student Emily McKay. A discussion with the cast and crew will follow the opening night performance. —Susan Cohen

Price: $15, $10/CofC students, faculty, and staff and seniors

Tags

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.