Theater

Stelle Di Domani Series: The Elephant in My Closet

When: Fri., May 25, 8 p.m., Sat., May 26, 8:30 p.m., Sun., May 27, 7 p.m., Wed., May 30, 8:30 p.m., Thu., May 31, 6 p.m., Fri., June 1, 9:30 p.m., Sat., June 2, 6 p.m., Sun., June 3, 7:30 p.m., Tue., June 5, 9 p.m., Fri., June 8, 8 p.m. and Sat., June 9, 8 p.m. 2012

Truly liberating. College of Charleston alumnus David Lee Nelson grew up Republican, but he started feeling out of place when he joined a left-leaning Shakespeare troupe in Alabama after college. Now he's an out-of-the-closet New York liberal, and he's having a hard time explaining it to his dad, a lifelong conservative who lives in Greenville. The one-man show blends comedy with some real introspection about political identity.

Fear, but no loathing. In 2010, the last time he came to town, Nelson got solid reviews for Status Update, a gripping and darkly comic piece about getting divorced and sobering up in the Facebook age. The subject matter isn't as heavy this time around, but a central plot point is Nelson's fear of how his father will take the news of his liberal coming-out during the '08 presidential election season.

Carry on, leftward son. The show probably isn't what you think. There's no angsty confrontation with a cold and distant father figure, although Nelson says his dad has given him a few good ribbings about his newfound liberal views. "This man is my hero," he says. "I love him so much, and he's done everything for me always, and I didn't think it was right to not be honest with him anymore."

Paul Bowers

Price: $16

Tags

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.